An Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) is an additional dwelling that can either be added to an existing single
family detached dwelling, or built as a separate accessory structure on the same lot as the primary dwelling.

Each Metro Denver County regulates zoning and allowable living units as well as legal uses based upon the local planning and zoning regulations. For your convenience, we have compiled a short list with links to the applicable websites.  Rules permit requirements and regulations change often, so make sure to contact the local planning and zoning department before making a property purchase or modifications involving an Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU).

Adams County

Arapahoe County

Broomfield County

Boulder County

Denver County

Douglas County

Jefferson County